Rural areas and urban city-By Ricky

On the way from Iloilo airport to the port, the place we took ferry to Guimaras Island, I observed something interesting. People in Iloilo prefer to drive big car, such as SUV, Jeep, and small truck. The reason may be that roads here are not well constructed, so drives prefer cars with more power. Public transportation here are totally different from those in Hong Kong and Taiwan. People rely on three kind of vehicles, they are bikes, motorcycle and jeepney. A jeepney can carry at most 15 people, and the basic fee for a ride is 6 to 7 peso, but the longer distance you take, the more you are charge for. The design and shape of a jeepney is quite unique and the price, half a million peso for a new one, is relatively cheap compare to other cars, because jeepney is made in Iloilo city and is sold only domestically. One more thing to add during the drive was the plant-watering work on the roads. There were four people doing this work, one for driving and three for watering by hands. This story tells the dilemma of creative destruction and unemployment. The government can either continue hiring four people or upgrading the watering process and hire one instead. If the government take the latter suggestion, three people will be unemployed immediately and may not be able to find a job in the future. One the other hand, the one who keeps his job is now four times more productive.

The boat we took from Iloilo city to Guimaras has bamboo on both sides in order to make the ferry balance when sailing, and this is why we call this kind of boat “spider boat” in Taiwan.

John, my roommate during this trip, and I stayed in a family of four in the east side of Guimaras. They are Home Pa, Home Ma, and two boys, which are 13 and 8 years old respectively.

sdr

sdr

 

Home Pa and Angelo, their eldest son has exactly the same smile, it is warm and comfortable; while Home Ma has an

 

and I thought she was Home Ma’s mother, so we kept calling her “grandma”. We had rice with chicken and potato in our first meal, and our second meal was rice with fried fish and vegetables, and we were totally not full at all! E
ven though what grandma cooked could not feed us fully, we always emptied all the dished in every meal. The one or two dishes meal is really different from what my grandma usually cooks. She always prepares at least four dishes with large portion and soup even though three are only three people at home, but at the same time, there are a lot of leftovers after each meal. During the day here, I cherished the food I ate and was thankful for what I can have in every meal. The first question I will have after going back home is whether I should convincesdr my family of adapting how the host family cook and treat food.

My host family has many business to make money. They, like many other family in Guimaras, have a small store that sell soft drink, cigarette, coal, alcohol (San Miguel, which is most of the most famous beer and Tamduay, which is dark rmum with 80 pf), and many cookies. They grow rice three times a year, and their yield is 2500 kg, and each kg of rice is worth 40 peso. They also raise many poultry, such as sow, piglet, chicken, and duck. Given that my business project is a newly started pig farm, I asked Home Ma many question about pig in the first week, which were really helpful for me to understand this business at the first stage. They have a two years old

 

IMG_20160608_145504.jpg

John and I sit in the front door either read books or writing diary after dinners, and we usually go to bed at ten which is corresponding to our host family’s lifestyle. When I need to go to church or to the market or to observe how people in the village kill pigs, I wake up before six. My lifestyle in the village is somehow similar to a saying, “wake up when the sun rises, and rest when the sun set”. However, when I was in Iloilo during the second weekend, I went to bed after 1 a.m. The difference is that there is electricity, air conditioner, food and drink whenever I want, so it doesn’t matter what time I should go to bed, what time I should eat and get up. While in the village, I need to go to bed before 10 because there is usually a power cutoff in the midnight, I need to rest and better not go out during noon time because it is too hot and there is no air conditioner, I have to eat before 8 in the evening because there is no one selling food after 8. I don’t know which lifestyle I prefer given that it is much more convenient in the city, and I need more time to think about this tough question.

To conclude what I have observed in the first week, Filipinos love chicken and rice, they even sell rice in Jolibee!

Leave a Reply

