Don’t Cry Because It’s Over, Smile Because It Happened : )

By Foo Fang Ling

It was with a heavy heart that I left Guimaras, Philippines. I am now back in Hong Kong – back to the hustle and bustle of the big and vibrant city which I have called home for the past two years. I am currently sitting here in a small coffee shop, sipping on a cup of milk tea and writing what would be my final blog post whilst reminiscing on life back in the countryside. Looking back on my twenty-six days in the Philippines, I really learnt a lot and had so much fun at the same time. I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything in the world.

Picking up from where I left off in my previous blog post, we have already handed in our report, internship and study tour letter, promotional video, post card and PowerPoint presentation to Rose. We were very nervous throughout the process because she went through everything in front of us. My thoughts at that moment was similar to what I have mentioned previously in my first blog post, i.e at the end of the day, have we clearly conveyed our ideas/suggestions to Rose and is it good for her business moving forward? It was a fruitful meeting as we could discuss on what we have worked on with her and get her feedback. Overall, she was happy with our work! She even offered to give us a lift to town and gifted each of us with three kilos of mangoes to be brought back home to our family and friends. While driving to town, she was so engrossed in conversation with Clarence that she forgot to wait for one of her workers to get in the car! She only realized it when we reached the market. All of us burst out laughing! I will really miss Rose and all the things that she has taught us regarding organic farming. I will definitely visit her again when I return to the Philippines in the future! Below is a group picture we took with Rose during our final meeting.

File 5-7-15 8 20 04 pm

We had our farewell lunch the day before and my oh my the food was amazing! Everyone and their respective host families gathered at Rosing’s place and all of us had a great time. Below is a picture of my family. Shikha, Lea, Hazel and myself. All in all, it was a perfect ending to our stay here in the Philippines and I couldn’t ask for more.

File 5-7-15 8 18 58 pm

Before saying goodbye, I would like to give a huge thank you to Mr. Beau for organizing this course. The University of Hong Kong really needs more lecturers like you who come up with fresh and innovative courses for students to enroll in. Learning definitely goes far beyond the four walls of a typical lecture theater and our assigned textbooks. You will never really know how well you have grasped all the theories taught in class until you apply it in the real world. So, to everyone who is interested in taking this course next year, I truly recommend that you take up the challenge and apply! Though you may face obstacles along the way, you will learn to overcome it through perseverance and working closely with your teams. I would also like to thank all of my course mates for being a part of this journey with me and hope to see you all again next year when I return from my exchange programme.

Till we meet again! This is Fang Ling officially signing off.

File 5-7-15 8 11 51 pm

Thank You ❤

Leave a Reply

