Say hi to Philippines!!

I still remember how eager I was to join this course once I read the email about it. I was fascinated by the content and the learning goals of the course. While I can work on some interesting projects with business partners, I can also have a better understanding of Philippines in terms of its economy, culture and people. In addition, it is also a way to give back to society. Over the past few weeks, I have received more and more information about the trip which makes me feeling excited and looking forward to it. I feel glad to join this course and the journey is going to start 5 hours later.

I am allocated working in a Pumpboat Association. Although I haven’t got much information about how the business goes, I start to imagine how to assess their business and the questions that have to ask from my business partners in order to perform a detail analysis for the company. My groupmate is Kanika who is a very active and sociable girl. I hope we can have a happy time working together.

It is the first time for me to live in a host family. I think it is a very good way to have a better understanding of people and culture of Philippines. I can’t wait to meet them. I wish to make friends with them by chatting and sharing my thoughts. I am also looking forward to try some local meals cooked by the host family.

There is also time for sightseeing. It is a great chance for me to travel around different islands of Philippines. Someone told me that Guimaras Island owns the best mango tree of the world. I am a mango-lover, I would definitely examine whether the rumor is true or not.

I have never been to Philippines before. To be honest, other than feeling excited, I also feel a little bit nervous due to the fact that Philippines is a country which is totally unfamiliar to me. However, this is also one of the major reasons why I want to join this course as I believe that life always begins with one step outside from the comfort zone. I think the journey will definitely be a challenging yet unforgettable experience. Let’s go!!

-Giselle

Leave a Reply

