Expectation before the trip

By Huang Yung Hsiang, Eric

Not until when I am on my way to the airport did I start writing my first blog post. When I told my friends that I am going to the Philippines for free for one month, almost all of them responded, “WOW! For free?! That’s awesome.” I think most of them expected this trip is for entertainment, that I could enjoy the sun shine for the whole month. However, I know that I am there to learn and to grow. I think I expect myself to learn from mainly third aspects.

First, I think by doing consulting with the businesses, I could apply what I have learned from the university. What we have learned were mainly theories or some very unlikely situations. However, by really trying to solve a problem for a business or trying to make a business better, I think it would be a totally different story. Therefore, I think I can benefit a lot from this process.

Secondly, I am so excited to get to know a bunch of new people. I can still vividly recall the time when I talked to Beau about the criteria of selecting the participants for this course. He said he was looking for people that he thinks is able to communicate their thoughts, take initiative to talk to people and be adaptive to different situations. Luckily enough, I can travel with this bunch of people possessing those traits. Hence, I looking forward to know all of the participants and be friends with them.

Lastly, I am looking forward to interact with my host family, to be immersed in the culture of the Philippines. If you ask me what I know about the Philippines, I could possibly think of the domestic helpers and also Manny Pacquiao. However, I promise myself that after I come back, I could tell you a lot more about the Philippines, their culture, their food, their language and so on. By interacting with the host family, I think I would get a deeper understanding of the things that I mentioned above. At last, as a basketball fans, I heard that Philippine people are also crazy about basketball, so to be honest, I hope I can play basketball with them if possible! Hope everything will go well and we can have a blast at Guimaras!

Bye Hong Kong~~ Guimaras, here I come!!!

Bye Hong Kong~~
Guimaras, here I come!!!

Leave a Reply

